Superintendent Blog


Watch for new blog posts each month!

Preparaing for the 2024-2025 School Year

Jul 03, 2024

I cannot believe it is July and we officially launched the start of the 2024-25 school year!  It is wonderful to see teachers and staff working with students enrolled in our summer school program.  The buildings are being thoroughly cleaned and many summer maintenance projects are in progress.  The new Forest Park playground looks amazing and playgrounds are underway at Keith and Woodland.  I'm thrilled to announce that Cunningham and Pershing are next on the schedule.

Please join me in welcoming new administrators to Joliet Public Schools District 86.  Some are brand new to the District while others will be taking on a new role this year.

JFK Center - District Office

Dr. Judith Nash, Assistant Superintendent for Human Resources & Labor Relations

BenQuila Smith, Family & Community Engagement Coordinator

Student Services Coordinators

Nicole Bonarek: Farragut, Sandburg

Kristen Krefft: Marshall, Pershing, Taft

Margaret Rizzi: Cunningham, Singleton

Angela Thomas: Gompers, Keith


Raúl Gastón: Gompers

Marysol Sandoval: Cunningham

Assistant Principals

Dr. Yolanda Coleman: Culbertson, Marshall

Nina Easto: Thigpen

Michelle Lewis-Kapp: Dirksen

Jordan Miller: Pershing

Kelley Ratajczak: Cunningham

Emily Redlich: Farragut

Lakisha Redmond: Marycrest

Academic Advisors

Laura Arias: Gompers

Anna Carbine: Hufford

Ryan Martinsen: Eisenhower, Forest Park

Alyssa Scott: Marycrest

Lisa Trilli-Mayfield: Sandburg

Chelsea Young: Thigpen

If you haven't registered your children for the upcoming school year, please do so as soon as possible.  All students must be registered by August 1st to guarantee bus transportation (for those students who qualify) for the first day of school.  Student registration can be completed on our website at Student Registration

If you have questions or need help with registration, staff are available until July 18th, 2024 at the following schools on Mondays and Wednesdays from 8:30 a.m. - 2:30 p.m. and Tuesdays and Thursdays from 12:30 - 6:30 p.m.

  • T.E. Culbertson Elementary, 1521 E. Washington Street, (815) 723-0035
  • M.J. Cunningham Elementary, 500 Moran Street, (815) 723-0169
  • Edna Keith Elementary, 400 Fourth Avenue, (815) 723-3409
  • Pershing Elementary, 251 N. Midland Avenue, (815) 725-0986

If you have a question, comment, concern, or compliment about one of our schools or the District, send us a Let's Talk message by visiting our District Website or clicking on the Let's Talk logo here.