Students Excel in Spelling Contest

Elementary Spelling Bee Winners

Congratulations to the four junior high school students who will be competing in the Will County Regional Spelling Bee at Lincoln-Way West High School on March 14, 2024. The winners are: Dirksen Junior High: Jaiden Lempke; Gompers Junior High: Brissa Cerrillo; Hufford Junior High: Malik Flowers and Washington Junior High: Rocco Jones.

In addition, Lynne Thigpen Elementary School fifth-grade student Xavier Samuel won the Joliet Public Schools District 86 Elementary School Spelling Bee Contest and David Gaucin from T.E. Culbertson Elementary was the runner-up. Madison Esters from Woodland Elementary placed third and Farragut Elementary School’s Jack Erzinger came in fourth place.

The school spelling winners who also competed included: M.J. Cunningham Elementary: Oliver Gentry; Eisenhower Academy: Lionel Salazar; Farragut Elementary: Marcelo Maldonado; Forest Park I.E.: Emmanuel Diaz; Thomas Jefferson Elementary: Juliana Crowder; Edna Keith Elementary: Julissa Segura-Leija; A.O. Marshall Elementary: Jose Garcia; Pershing Elementary: Jace Jones; Sator Sanchez Elementary: Cristian Sosme Moyotl; Carl Sandburg Elementary: Brandon Gentry; Isaac Singleton Elementary: Sarai Navarro; and Taft Elementary: Melody De Los Angeles.

Photo Caption: (From left to right, back row, front row) Lynne Thigpen Elementary School Assistant Principal Elizabeth Darlin, Joliet Public Schools District 86 Board of School Inspector Sandra Aguirre, T.E. Culbertson Elementary School Principal Larry Tucker, Superintendent Dr. Theresa Rouse, First Place Winner Xavier Samuel, Lynne Thigpen Elementary, and Second Place Winner David Gaucin, T.E. Culbertson Elementary.


Back to news