Student Winners of Superintendent's Award


Congratulations to the Joliet Public Schools District 86 students who received the Superintendent’s Award for third trimester of the 2022-2023 school year. Only one student from each District 86 school was selected by the school for this honor. The award recognizes the outstanding achievements and hard work of students who display characteristics that make them outstanding students and people. Superintendent Dr. Theresa Rouse, along with the school principal, surprised the students with the award in their classroom. 

The student winners are Sofia Luna, T.E. Culbertson Elementary; Yovanni Munoz, M.J. Cunningham Elementary; Damien Leal Alejandre, Dirksen Junior High; Liam Hall, Eisenhower Academy; Myah Sawyer, Farragut Elementary; Carmello Smith, Forest Park Individual Education (I.E.) School; Maritza Torres, Gompers Junior High; Makayla Brown, Hufford Junior High; Serenity Woodfork, Thomas Jefferson Elementary; Quetzalli Alonso Miranda, Edna Keith Elementary; Ricardo Gonzalez, A.O. Marshall Elementary; Diego Cedillos, Marycrest Early Childhood Center; Jazlyn Winters, Pershing Elementary; Axel Jimenez, Sator Sanchez Elementary; Izaak Galvan, Carl Sandburg Elementary; Jovanny Ibarra-Ramirez, Isaac Singleton Elementary; Orion Jackson, Taft Elementary; Ella Becker, Lynne Thigpen Elementary; Aniya Fuller, Thompson Instructional Center; Camila Zavala, Washington Academy; and Jaxin Loyd, Woodland Elementary.

“It was wonderful to surprise these students with the Superintendent’s Award,” said Joliet Public Schools District 86 Superintendent Dr. Theresa Rouse, “School administrators work with their staff to select the student who is deserving of this award.”

Back to news