Happy School Board Members Day


Joliet Public Schools District 86 celebrates Illinois School Board Members Day today (November 15, 2019).  The day is an opportunity to honor citizens across the state of Illinois who volunteer their time and energy for the successful education of children.

The Joliet Public Schools District 86 Board of School Inspectors include President Tonya Roberts, Vice President Anthony Contos, Erick Deshaun Dorris, Gwendolyn Ulmer, R. Emil Standfield, Deborah Ziech, and Jeffrey Pritz.

“Our school board members volunteer countless hours to support our students and staff,” said Joliet Public Schools District 86 Superintendent Dr. Theresa Rouse, “I appreciate their leadership, commitment, and dedication to District 86.”

Jeffrey Pritz has served on the Board of School Inspectors for 26 years. Deborah Ziech has been on the board since 2003. Tonya Roberts and Gwendolyn Ulmer have both served for 8 years. Anthony Contos has been on the board since 2013. Erick Deshaun Dorris has been a school board member since 2017 and R. Emil Standfield was elected earlier this year.  Currently 10,904 students in grades PreKindergarten through eighth grade attend one of 21 Joliet Public Schools District 86 schools in the city of Joliet. District 86 is the fourth largest elementary school district in Illinois and the fourth largest employer in Joliet.

Back to news