District 86 Students Receive College Scholarships


Joliet Public Schools District 86 students, from Joliet area schools will receive a $1,000 Hawk Joliet Education Scholarship to encourage them to plan for college at an early age. Students in grades 4-8 who maintained a grade point average of 3.75 or above on a 4.0 scale and demonstrated service to their school or community were nominated by their school for the award.

This year’s District 86 winners were: T.E. Culbertson Elementary: Crystal Paz (5th grade); M.J. Cunningham Elementary: Korina Moreno (5th grade); Dirksen Junior High: Ajaj Thomas (8th grade); Eisenhower Academy: Julia Yanchick (4th grade); Farragut Elementary: Esmeralda Hernandez (5th grade); Forest Park Individual Education School: Jayanah Parker (4th grade); Gompers Junior High: America Suarez (8th grade); Hufford Junior High: Cadence Lovett (6th grade); Thomas Jefferson Elementary: Kelly Mangabhai (5th grade); Edna Keith Elementary: Yazaria Brathwaite (4th grade); A.O. Marshall Elementary: Jazleen Gonzalez (5th grade); Pershing Elementary: Ylenia Lopez (4th grade); Carl Sandburg Elementary: Gavin Rothermel (5th grade); Sator Sanchez Elementary: Daniela Soria (5th grade); Isaac Singleton Elementary: Jackelyn Garcia (4th grade); Taft Elementary: Anthony Swarthout (4th grade); Lynne Thigpen Elementary: Braylon Rounsaville (4th grade); Washington Junior High: Dimitris Kourtidis (8th grade); and Woodland Elementary: Bella Patino (5th grade).

The Joliet Region Chamber Education Committee established the Joliet Region Education Scholarship Fund in 2014. Sponsors of this year’s program included Hawk Joliet, ExxonMobil, Joliet Grade Schools Foundation for Educational Excellence, and the University of St. Francis.

Back to news