District 86 Students Receive $1,000 Scholarships

2024 Joliet Region Hawk Education Scholarship Winners

Congratulations to our 19 Joliet Public Schools District 86 students who were named recipients of a Joliet Region $1,000 Hawk Education Scholarship.  Students in grades 4-8 who maintained a grade point average of 3.75 or above on a 4.0 scale and demonstrated service to their school or community were nominated by their school for the award to encourage them to start planning for their future after high school. The scholarships will be held in a trust until the students graduate high school and enroll in a college, university, or trade school.

Forty students received the scholarship this year, including the following Joliet District 86 students: T.E. Culbertson Elementary: David Gaucin, 5th Grade; M.J. Cunningham Elementary: Jannete Arroyo, 5th Grade; Dirksen Junior High: Makayla Mays, 8th Grade; Eisenhower Academy: Mya Neely, 4th Grade; Farragut Elementary: Mauricio Contreras, 5th Grade; Forest Park Individual Education (I.E.) School: Evelyn Doyle, 4th Grade; Gompers Junior High: Juan Carrillo Vargas, 8th Grade; Hufford Junior High: Divine Aggo, 8th Grade; Thomas Jefferson Elementary: Ingrid Loera, 5th Grade; Edna Keith Elementary: Jacob Elizalde, 5th Grade; A.O. Marshall Elementary: Abigail Rosas Ramirez, 5th Grade; Pershing Elementary: Robert "Tre" Youngman, 4th Grade; Sator Sanchez Elementary: Amiyah Saffold, 5th Grade; Carl Sandburg Elementary: Jonathan Alvarez-Alvarado, 5th Grade; Isaac Singleton Elementary: Melannie Ortega, 4th Grade; Taft Elementary: Addyson Vowell, 4th Grade; Lynne Thigpen Elementary: Camila Gonzalez, 5th Grade; Washington Junior High: Violet Conboy, 8th Grade; and Woodland Elementary: Madison Esters, 5th Grade.

The Joliet Region Chamber of Commerce & Industry Education Committee established the Joliet Region Education Scholarship Program in 2014. Sponsors of this year’s program included Hawk Joliet and the Joliet Grade Schools Foundation for Educational Excellence.


Back to news