Community Leaders Serve as Honorary Principals



Joliet Public Schools District 86 recently welcomed community and business members into elementary and junior high schools for the District’s annual Principal for a Day Celebration. “Honorary” principals shadowed the school principals on Principal Appreciation Day to help with student arrival, morning announcements, visiting classrooms, lunch, and even conducting fire drills. 

"After a long two years, it was wonderful to open our schools to these community leaders to see first-hand the great things happening in our schools and the hard work principals do on a daily basis." said Joliet Public Schools District 86 Superintendent Dr. Theresa Rouse.

Honorary principals included: T.E. Culbertson Elementary: Kiara Ford, Kustom Designs; M.J. Cunningham Elementary: Laura Wilmarth Tyna, Lewis University; Dirksen Junior High: Denise Winfrey, Will County Board Member District 6; Eisenhower Academy: Chef Michael McGreal, Joliet Junior College; Farragut Elementary: Mayor Bob O’Dekirk, City of Joliet; Forest Park Individual Education School: Senator Eric Mattson, State of Illinois; Gompers Junior High: Laurie Summers, Will County Coroner; Hufford Junior High: Judge Dinah Archambeault, 12th Judicial Circuit Court; Edna Keith Elementary: Pete Colarelli, ExxonMobil Corporation; A.O. Marshall Elementary: Greg Peerbolte, Joliet Area Historical Museum; Marycrest Early Childhood Center: Deputy Michael Kane, Deputy Scott Kelley, and K-9 Unit, Will County Sheriff; Pershing Elementary: Mittchelena Meade, Meade and Associates; Sator Sanchez Elementary: Cesar Cardenas, Unidos Marketing Network; Carl Sandburg Elementary: Valerie Devine, Joliet Public Library; Isaac Singleton Elementary: Jesse Easley, Mt. Zion Baptist Church; Lynne Thigpen Elementary: Michelle Parham, pharmacist and Chuck Meade, Meade and Associates; Thompson Instructional Center: Garland Mays, Will County, Illinois; and Woodland Elementary: Sarah Oprzedek, United Way of Will County.

Back to news