Students Receive College Scholarships


The Joliet Region Education Scholarship Fund awarded 38 local students, including 19 Joliet Public Schools District 86 students, with $1,000 college scholarships. These winning students were from Joliet area schools, in grades 4-8, who maintained at least a grade point average of 3.75 and demonstrated service at their school or in the community. The students were nominated by their school principal or teacher for the award. The scholarship program was created by the Joliet Region Chamber of Commerce Education Committee in 2014 to encourage and motivate students at an early age to attend college or trade school after high school. In lieu of a banquet this year, principals presented a medal, trophy and yard sign to the students at their houses.

This year’s Joliet District 86 winners were: T.E. Culbertson Elementary: Logan Grabo, 5th grade; M.J. Cunningham Elementary: Paula Rangel, 5th grade; Dirksen Junior High: Heaven Gonzalez, 7th grade; Eisenhower Academy: Elena Yanchick, 5th grade; Farragut Elementary: Caleb Dennis, 5th grade; Forest Park Individual Education I.E. School: Jack Gregory, 4th grade; Gompers Junior High: Adriana Faria Lugo, 6th grade; Hufford Junior High: Lorelei Wojewoda, 6th grade; Thomas Jefferson Elementary: Michael Ardaugh, 5th grade; Edna Keith Elementary: Edwardo Sandoval, 4th grade; A.O. Marshall Elementary: Alfonso Duenez, 5th grade; Pershing Elementary: Hailey Reyes, 5th grade; Sator Sanchez Elementary: Alexa Magana, 5th grade; Carl Sandburg Elementary: Jocelyn Martinez, 5th grade; Isaac Singleton Elementary: Juan Tirado, 5th grade; Taft Elementary: Cooper Hill, 4th grade; Lynne Thigpen Elementary: Fernanda Chavez, 4th grade; Washington Junior High: Nevaeh Zavala, 8th grade; and Woodland Elementary: Rafael Garcia, 5th grade.

Sponsors included Hawk Joliet Cadillac-Chevrolet (title investor), Citgo (silver investor) and the Joliet Grade Schools Foundation for Educational Excellence (bronze investor).

Back to news