Junior High Students Receive Scholarships


The Joliet Grade Schools Foundation for Educational Excellence presented eight Brenton Wadsworth Scholarship Awards to Joliet Public Schools District 86 students during eighth grade graduation ceremonies.  Each student received a $185 scholarships to pay for student high school registration and activity fees for the upcoming 2019-2020 school year.  Student winners included:

Dirksen Junior High: Lexi Cerrillo, Luis Pineda

Gompers Junior High: Sara Mascote, Christian Villagomez

Hufford Junior High and Individual Education Program: Diego Fernandez, Lisa Hartney

Washington Junior High & Academy Program: Esmeralda Hernandez, Zachary Riley

Brenton Wadsworth attended Joliet Grade Schools as a child and graduated from Joliet Township High School.  Mr. Wadsworth established this scholarship to help further the educational dreams of students in Joliet. 

In addition to awarding classroom teacher grants, the Joliet Grade Schools Foundation has awarded $43,430 in student scholarships since 2005. For more information about the Foundation, visit www.joliet86.org/foundation or call (815) 740-3196 ext. 8204.

Back to news