Congratulations District 86 Great Teachers


Congratulations to the eight Joliet Public Schools District 86 teachers who were named 2022 Joliet Area Great Teachers by the Joliet Region Chamber of Commerce & Industry. Overall, 20 local teachers were recognized. The teachers were nominated by students, parents, colleagues, administrators, or community members. 

This year’s District 86 winning teachers included (front row, from left to right) Tanya Burcenski: M.J. Cunningham Elementary, fourth grade bilingual and Amanda Wilhelmi: Dirksen Junior High, eighth grade math, athletic director (back row, from left to right) Vanessa Serrano: A.O. Marshall Elementary School, third grade bilingual; Karina Alonso: A.O. Marshall Elementary, second grade; Deidre Sinchak: Thomas Jefferson Elementary, second/third grade special education; Angela Klunder: Thomas Jefferson, A.O. Marshall, Isaac Singleton, and Lynne Thigpen Elementary Schools, elementary art; Jennifer Wynveen: Gompers Junior High, general music, choir director; and Stefanie Young: Carl Sandburg Elementary, Kindergarten.

Combined, these teachers have worked for over 74 years in Joliet Public Schools District 86 schools. The teachers were recognized at the District 86 Board of School Inspectors meeting in March. 

Back to news