2023 Joliet Chamber College Scholarship Winners


Joliet Public Schools District 86 students, from Joliet area schools will receive a Joliet Region $1,000 Hawk Education Scholarship to encourage them to plan for college at an early age. Students in grades 4-8 who maintained a grade point average of 3.75 or above on a 4.0 scale and demonstrated service to their school or community were nominated by their school for the award. The scholarships will be held in a trust until the students graduate high school and enroll in a college, university, or trade school. 

Forty-three students received the scholarship this year, including the following Joliet District 86 students: T.E. Culbertson Elementary: Joselyn Alcantar, 5th Grade; M.J. Cunningham Elementary: Leo Gonzalez, 4th Grade; Dirksen Junior High: Joanna Swearengen, 8th Grade; Eisenhower Academy: Adelyn Urbanczyk, 5th Grade; Farragut Elementary:  Carly Hill, 5th Grade; Forest Park Individual Education (I.E.) School: Jaylah Hernandez, 4th Grade; Gompers Junior High: Fabian Martinez, 7th Grade;   Hufford Junior High: Andrea Ramirez, 8th Grade; Thomas Jefferson Elementary: Parker Hopkins, 5th Grade; Edna Keith Elementary; Savanna Jones, 5th Grade; A.O. Marshall Elementary: Anthony Gonzalez-Meza, 5th Grade; Pershing Elementary: Maya Tapia, 5th Grade; Sator Sanchez Elementary: Jimena Jimenez, 5th Grade; Carl Sandburg Elementary: Laila Jones, 5th Grade; Isaac Singleton Elementary: Isabella Salgado, 4th Grade; Taft Elementary: Aaliyah Hernandez, 4th Grade; Lynne Thigpen Elementary: Noah Daniels, 4th Grade; Washington Academy: Fernanda Villanueva, 8th Grade; and Woodland Elementary: Naomi Awinongya, 5th grade.

The Joliet Region Chamber of Commerce & Industry Education Committee established the Joliet Region Education Scholarship Program in 2014. Sponsors of this year’s program included Hawk Joliet and the Joliet Grade Schools Foundation for Educational Excellence.


Back to news